Online Giving


  1. Home
  2. »
  3. Sacraments


“Sacraments are ‘powers that come forth’ from the Body of Christ, which is ever-living and life-giving. They are actions of the Holy Spirit at work in his Body, the Church. They are ‘the masterworks of God’ in the new and everlasting covenant.”

Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1116


The seven sacraments can be drawn together in three categories:

  • Sacraments of Initiation – Baptism, Confirmation and Holy Eucharist
  • Sacraments of Healing – Reconciliation and Anointing of the Sick
  • Sacraments of Vocation – Marriage and Holy Orders

“Sacraments are efficacious signs of grace, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church, through which divine life is dispensed through the power of the Holy Spirit; Catholics are sanctified and the Body of Christ gives greater honor and glory to God.”

Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1127-1131

Adult Confirmation

“Confirmation perfects baptismal grace; it is the sacrament in which the Holy Spirit roots one more deeply in divine filiation, incorporates one more firmly into Christ, strengthens one’s bond with the Church, associates one more closely with her mission, and helps one bear witness to the Christian faith in words, accompanied by deeds.”

Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1316

Adult practicing Catholics who have been baptized and have received First Eucharist but have not been confirmed may register for Adult Confirmation classes at St. Mary’s by contacting Gail Sowell at [email protected] or Sharon Skeans at [email protected]. Adult confirmation classes are held onsite and consist of six classes plus one retreat. Confirmation is conferred by Cardinal DiNardo on Pentecost Sunday.

Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults

For adults who have not been baptized, or who have been baptized in another denomination and wish to be received into the Catholic faith, the Sacraments of Initiation (Baptism, First Eucharist, and Confirmation) are to be celebrated at the same time at the Easter Vigil. The preparation and celebration of these sacraments is known as the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults.

See the page regarding RCIA under ‘Grow in Faith’ at this website.